Aking when do I need to change my address on my license is like asking when should you drink water when you’re thirsty. You are expected to change your address on your license between 10 to 30 days to avoid being fined.
In the US, a driving license is not issued by the federal government but by the state government. Your state of residence will issue you the license. The minimum age to obtain a license is 16 years. The driver’s license has different types and the numbers of each state also differ.
There are laws guiding the issuance of driver’s licenses in each state. And if you move to a new state, it is required that you get the driver’s license of the state within a stipulated time.
The reason why you need to obtain the new state’s driver’s license is because of the change in your residential address. If you are also moving to a new house within your state, it is necessary that you change your address with the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicle) of your state.
Table of Contents
When Do I Need to Change my Address on my License?
If you are residing in the state that issued you the driver’s license, you don’t need to change your address unless you move to a new location in that state.
- In New York, you must change your address within 10 days after moving.
- In Texas, when you move to a new residence, you have to change your address on the driver’s license within 30 days and you can also apply for a replacement driver’s license which will have your new address on it.
If you are moving to a new home in your state, verify the number of days you need to change your address on your driver’s license.
Pros of Changing Your Address on Your License
1. It Will be Easy to Locate You
When you change your address on your license, it would be easy for you to be located when the need arises. When you move to a new location in your state, you need to change your address with the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). They will register your vehicle to the right address and send you a mail.
2. For Voters’ Registration
Federal voting law states that you must present your driver’s license or the last four digits of your social security number when you want to do your voters registration.
In some states, you would be asked to bring a form of ID to the polls. You have to check with your local election to know what is required for registration and what you need to bring to the polls to vote.
Cons of Not Changing Your Address on Your License
It Will be Difficult to Locate You
When you have the wrong address, it will be difficult to locate you. The DMV will still think you are residing in the old location. If you commit a traffic offense, you won’t be found at your old address. And this will make you look like a criminal on the run.
In states like Florida, if you don’t update your address, you have violated the laws and you will be penalized. You can be fined as a result of that or your license suspended.
In Texas, if you fail to change your address, you will be fined $20 by the court. In most states, failure to change your address is a crime
Can I Change my NJ Drivers License Address Online?
Due to technology, you don’t have to go to the DMV in person to change your address. Also, in many states, you don’t have to collect a new driver’s license with your new address on it except you request a duplicate license. So this has made states make the change of address possible on the website of the DMV.
In New Jersey, you can change your address online. It is even a must you do it online though you can still do it in person. But you cannot use PO Box as your address as it is not regarded as a residential or physical address.
To commence with the process online, you need the following:
- A valid driver’s license number
- A valid social security number,
- A valid E-mail address and
- Access to a printer so as to print out the Address Change confirmation.
If you want a copy of your driver’s license with the new address on it, you can request a duplicate license 10 days after you have processed the change online.
Can I Change the Address on my Driving License by Phone?
You can change the address on your driving license by phone when you log on to the website of your state’s DMV. In most states, you can call the number on the DMV website to change the address.
Many of these departments have the time they answer their calls. You must have your driver’s license with you when you are on the phone with their representative because there are some details they need on the license.
How Much Does it Cost to Change Your Address on Your Driver License?
This is dependent on your state and other things like the car weight, types of license, and so on. There is no general fee for that.
- In New York, you will be required to pay $12.50 to change information on your driver’s license (change of address included).
- In New Jersey, you will pay around $19.50. It is better to verify from your state’s DMV the amount you will pay.
How Can I Change the Address on my Driving License?
You can change the address on your driving license online or in person. You will be required to have your driver’s license number, social security number, E-mail address (if it is online), proof of your old residence, and address of the new residence.
Check with the DMV of your state; they will tell you what you need and take you through the process.
How Long Does it Take to Change Address on Driving License?
This is also not general in all states. It is dependent on your state. It doesn’t take much time to change the address on your driver’s license especially if it’s online. But if you request a new license, it can take between 6 to 8 weeks before it arrives in your mail.
Moving to a new residence can be stressful because you have to be sure you are not missing out on anything. When it comes to moving, you need to update your address on your documents for easy access to you. There is a time limit to changing your address on your license so you have to be fast about it and not end up paying a fine.